The Wells County Sheriff’s Department provides police and law enforcement services throughout the county in cooperation with municipal departments, Indiana  State Police and others. The sheriff also is responsible for operation of the Wells County Jail and for serving of papers for the courts.

The sheriff’s department and jail are located in the Wells County Jail building at 1615 Western Ave. on the west side of Bluffton. Phone 260-824-3426, fax 260-824-6424.

The sheriff is Monte Fisher (90-1). The chief deputy is Scott Holliday (90-2). The jail commander is Karen Thompson.  The detectives are: Det. Lt. Diane Betz (90-3) and Det. Jeremy Heckel (90-4).

Other deputy sheriffs are: James Agler (90-7); Sgt. Kurt Powell (90-8); School Resource Officer Chad Bradley (90-9); Sgt. Randy Steele (90-10); Kurtis Brooksher (90-11); Jeff McClish (90-12); Andrew Campbell (90-13); Austin Springer (90-14); Ryan Mounsey (90-15); Curt Hunt (90-16); Jordan Roberts (90-17); Jacob McKinley (90-18).

Other dispatcher/jail officers are: Melissa Perez, Angie McClish, Transport Officer Ronald Campbell, Deb Garrett, Misty Haddix, Zach Hayden, Lt. Joe Pettibone, Erin Pezo, Zach Walker, James Warthman, Andrew Dockter, Jairus Daggett, Brittany Weedman, Amy Yates, Cheyenne Harris, Brandon Liechty, Clayton Elston, Tre Nusbaumer, Doug Miller. Part-time jailers are Roger Compton, Hunter Ingle.

Office staff: Krista Markley, Matron; Bonnie Heckel, Clerk/Receptionist

Kitchen staff: Denise Lyon, Kitchen Administrator; Amy Marshall, Elizabeth Gearheart cooks; Stacy Best, part-time cook

Back to Fact Book